ABERDEEN CITY COUNCIL

Town House, ABERDEEN, 16 January 2025

MINUTE OF SPECIAL MEETING OF ABERDEEN CITY COUNCIL

Sederunt:

Lord Provost David Cameron, <u>Chairperson</u>; Depute Provost Steve Delaney; and

COUNCILLORS

GILLIAN AL-SAMARAI NURUL HOQUE ALI CHRISTIAN ALLARD ALISON ALPHONSE KATE BLAKE JENNIFER BONSELL MARIE BOULTON **DESMOND BOUSE** RICHARD BROOKS HAZEL CAMERON DONNA CLARK JOHN COOKE NEIL COPLAND WILLIAM CORMIE BARNEY CROCKETT DEREK DAVIDSON LEE FAIRFULL EMMA FARQUHAR GORDON GRAHAM **ROSS GRANT**

MARTIN GREIG DELL HENRICKSON MICHAEL HUTCHISON GRAEME LAWRENCE SANDRA MACDONALD NEIL MacGREGOR ALEXANDER McLELLAN KEN McLEOD CIARAN McRAE M. TAUQEER MALIK JESSICA MENNIE ALEX NICOLL MIRANDA RADLEY MRS JENNIFER STEWART KAIRIN VAN SWEEDEN LYNN THOMSON DEENA TISSERA SIMON WATSON and IAN YUILL

Lord Provost David Cameron, in the Chair.

The agenda and reports associated with this minute can be found here.

Please note that if any changes are made to this minute at the point of approval, these will be outlined in the subsequent minute and this document will not be retrospectively altered.

Council Meeting, Thursday, 16 January 2025

DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST AND TRANSPARENCY STATEMENTS

1. Councillor Yuill advised that he had connections in relation to the item as a member of Cycling UK and as a member of the AA (Automobile Association), however having applied the objective test he did not consider that he had an interest and would not be withdrawing from the meeting.

Councillor Grant advised that he had a connection in relation to the item by reason of his employment by Aberdeen Inspired, however having applied the objective test he did not consider that he had an interest and would not be withdrawing from the meeting.

WRITTEN REQUEST FOR SPECIAL MEETING

2. The Council had before the wording of the written request for this special Council meeting which had been signed by 12 members in accordance with Standing Order 8.2.2:-

"The business to be transacted relates to the Aberdeen City Council (City Centre, Aberdeen) (Traffic Management) (Experimental) Order 2023."

Councillor Brooks moved, seconded by Councillor Farquhar:-

That Council:-

- 1. Notes the decision of the reconvened Council meeting called by members at 10:30am on 16th January 2025;
- 2. Agrees that all of the information to make a robust decision at the Net Zero, Environment and Transport Committee on 11th June 2024 and Council on 11th October 2024 was not provided to elected members, which has resulted in the Chief Executive's public apology and the calling of numerous special meetings:
- 3. Agrees that Councillor Yuill as the Convener of Net Zero, Environment and Transport Committee should have been fully conversant with the ETRO situation and the obligations therein; and, shown the required leadership to avoid the numerous special meetings on this item that have resulted since 11th June 2024; and
- 4. Therefore, and following the public apology from the Chief Executive at the Urgent Business Committee on 18th December 2024, agrees that the council no longer has confidence in Councillor Yuill as the Convener of Net Zero, Environment and Transport Committee.

Councillor Malik moved as an amendment:-

That Council agree Councillor Brooks' motion and add in the following:-

- 1. Agrees that this matter is so serious that it resulted in the Chief Executive publicly apologising; and
- 2. Agrees that the circumstances leading to the chaotic workings of the Council on this matter should be referred to the Audit, Risk and Scrutiny Committee for a full audit.

Prior to Councillor Malik's amendment being seconded, Councillor Brooks advised that he was willing to incorporate it within his motion and this was accepted.

Council Meeting, Thursday, 16 January 2025

Councillor Allard moved as an amendment, seconded by the Depute Provost:-That the Council take no action.

On a division, there voted:-

<u>For the motion</u> (18) - Councillors Ali, Blake, Bonsell, Boulton, Brooks, Crockett, Farquhar, Graham, Grant, Lawrence, Macdonald, McLeod, Malik, Nicoll, Mrs Stewart, Thomson, Tissera and Watson.

<u>For the amendment by Councillor Allard</u> (23) - Lord Provost; Depute Provost; and Councillors Al-Samarai, Allard, Alphonse, Bouse, Hazel Cameron, Clark, Cooke, Copland, Cormie, Davidson, Fairfull, Greig, Henrickson, Hutchison, MacGregor, McLellan, McRae, Mennie, Radley, van Sweeden and Yuill.

The Council resolved:-

to adopt the amendment.

- DAVID CAMERON, Lord Provost.